My first adventure into home DIY

After 2 years of living in my apartment with minimal decor I decided it was finally time to make things look a little better.  I some how stumbled upon the http://www.younghouselove.com blog and became instantly obsessed. I perused the site for weeks, finally deciding that I could tackle no sew curtains.  I tend to be very indecisive when it comes to decorating decisions (it took almost a year for me to find the “perfect” duvet cover for our bed).  I searched fabric sites over and over until I found something I thought I could live with at ikea.  

 

I ventured to the store and managed to cut several yards for myself.  I also swung by Joann fabrics and picked up some hem tape.  I didn’t bother to read how long the roll was or for that matter figure out how much I would need for my curtains.  That would bite me in the butt when I was in the middle of hem sewing with our iron and I manged to run out of hem tape.  One more trip back to Joann’s.  The finished curtains turned out pretty well, even Nolan liked them.


Pre-curtains


Post curtains


Nolan giving the curtains some love before they went up on the wall

 

I was very proud of myself for actually finishing a project and even more pleased that they actually looked half decent!  I basically followed the instructions on young house love step by step, except I bought my curtain rod and curtains rings at IKEA.  I think it turned out okay, but after buying some curtain rings from target I realized you definitely get more curtain rings from Target than you do IKEA. Oh well, you live and learn

