Workout Recap 3/2-3/8

This recap is a little late, but I actually did a few workouts so I wanted to log them.

3/2 Sunday: bike ride around local park= 15 miles.  I was supposed to go on a training ride with the series that I’m using to train for the MS150, but the pre-ride email talked a lot about a bad tailwind and the possibility of rain.  That really didn’t persuade me to get out of bed, but seeing as how the ride is coming up soon I decided to get something in.  Brad wanted to go hit some range balls so I had him drop me off and I figured I would ride until he was done.  That worked out to be about 15 miles.

The loop is at Tom Bass Park and is perfect for training.  Each lap is 1.5 miles and the road is pretty quiet.  It was good training as I rode with a tailwind, sidewinds and a headwind.  Towards the end it started to drizzle, so I was really glad I didn’t go on the training ride.

3/3 Monday: slow 2.14 mile run.  I decided to use my heart rate monitor for this one and I always feel like I’m moving at a snails pace.  I haven’t been running much lately and this seems like the way to go.  I enjoyed a nice run around my new neighborhood and around the lakes.  

Tuesday, Wednesday: unplanned rest days.  It was freezing outside, I did nothing.

Thursday: 1.5 hours of pulling weeds in the backyard.  We hadn’t touched our yard since we moved in.  We had weeds taller than the dog.  I count it as a workout because my hamstrings were shaking at the end from so much squatting and standing.

Friday: rest day

Saturday: 43 mile training ride in Columbus, TX (2 hours from Houston!) Up super early for a training ride. They said that part of this ride was on the actual ride we would do on the MS150.  I had a great ride for whatever reason and felt really strong until the last 5 miles of hills.  I’ve been working on my fueling and water intake and would like to think that helped.  I could feel my hamstrings were a little tight, so maybe that helped as well?? Who knows, but I really enjoyed myself.  

This is what my outfit looked like at the end of the ride.  Still working on my layers

Week of 3/9: My parents, brother and grandma are in town from PA! We’ve been relaxing, heading to the beach and the rodeo.  I haven’t really done much except a lot of walking and sleeping!

4 more weeks until the MS150!


My co-worker and I are thinking about signing up for a super sprint triathlon the weekend after the MS150.  If we do I need to get in the pool ASAP.  More details to come…

